Call Today for a Consultation 402-817-2890
London Law Office P.C., L.L.O.

The cost of a Nebraska DUI

You're already aware that drunk driving is illegal. There is no shortage of reminders that patrols are watching for people who have been drinking before getting behind the wheel.

The surprise typically comes when it's time to deal with the consequences. There is a lot more to dealing with a DUI charge than a common traffic violation. It isn't one of those things where you can pay a fine and go back to your life the way that it was.

These are the costs that come along with a first-time DUI charge in Nebraska.

No forgiveness for first-timers

While the penalties get much worse if you face a second or third DUI charge, a first time DUI is still no small matter. A first time DUI charge will include the following:

  • Charges for towing and impounding your vehicle
  • Driver's license revoked for up to six months
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to 120 hours of community service
  • $500 fine

Getting your license back

Being able to drive again is more than a matter of waiting for the revocation period to pass. You will have to get your license reinstated.

One possibility for getting your driving privileges back is applying for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP). If your permit application is approved, you will be able to drive again, but only with an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. Keep in mind that with this device in place, you will only be able to operate your car if you can pass a breath test.

Your other option for getting your license back is applying for reinstatement after the revocation period is over. You will have to take the driving test and pay a $125.00 reinstatement fee to complete the process.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information